CCNS first opened in a private home in the Village Creek section of South Norwalk in 1953. The current “little red schoolhouse” was built in the late 1960s, and CCNS proudly remains today as one of the few cooperative preschools in Connecticut. In 1962, when the school needed funds for operational costs, Peter Hussey, father to then-student Christopher, helped start the art show when he was the president of the school. The sale of the artwork raises money to support the school’s operational expenses and special projects. 53 years later, the art show has turned into one of the premier art shows in Fairfield County, showcasing the works of over a hundred artists in a sophisticated, parlor-style setting.